Poll: How often should a story be updated

How often do you think a story should be updated? - What is a convenient update schedule.

• Total voters

Ilikewaterkusa

You have to take out their families...
R

Attachments

• 6B2ADE5A-07D0-456E-9BF6-997B84E31A19.png
    6B2ADE5A-07D0-456E-9BF6-997B84E31A19.png
    341.6 KB · Views: 35

Erys

Her Highness
Direction is more important than speed. It doesn't matter how fast you're updating if you think your story are heading the wrong way.

vaurwyn

Everyone dies someday, but I'm procrastinating
If you want the most readers and keep their attention, then daily updates are the best.
You can do less, but regularity is key. Anything more than a week and a lot of readers will drop out, since they are no longer invested in your story.
As a writer I would advise 2/3 times a week, to give you time to properly write your chapters while updating regularly.

CZ2

When I see someone uploading everyday, I subconsciously think that the chapters are of bad quality. It's a bad bias to have, but I can't help it.

D

Deleted member 57675

Then you might not have read Chinese novels. Those authors churn out 3 chapters of 1.5-2k words each every day. 21 chapters every week...
Yes, but you want to post quality chapters, not just quantity chapters. I also heard many do it bc bad contracts perhaps and the story becomes shitty in plot quality.

4-5 times a week is great for readers but chance of mental burnout in writing, time it digs into real life stuff, and drop in story quality.

2-3 times a week is better for reader and writer imo. Reader can remember it and writer has certain schedule but not every day. 3x is probably ideal, 2 is still good but slightly borders 1 issue. Thu 2 better is for writers.

1 day a week is going to be forgotten unless its very good or already have a reader base. May get obscured in newest updates with so many other stories competing to show up in that table.

85meyrreg