Cover Art & Story Popularity

blue98

Curious how cover art plays into people's reading decisions. (I always like playing with min-maxing read stats when I'm new to a site.)

As a reader are you more likely to click on something with a drawn art cover? More realistic photo cover? Words on cover cover? Regular scribble hub cover? Don't really care about the cover? Will a bad cover drive you away, but a good cover doesn't pull you in?

And for authors, have you noticed a trend about which of your stories are/aren't popular based on any cover trends? Or is it really more a meritocracy where story themes and tags play the larger role in stats?

Mihou

Firefly—
I mean, there was that one ScribbleHub story which had a borderline NSFW cover art and it gained over 100ish readers in one day... so cover really matters a lot despite the many people saying "Covers don't matter, the story does". If you can, then you can try making a cover that attracts people, there's no harm in doing so.

something with a drawn art cover? More realistic photo cover? Words on cover cover? Regular scribble hub cover? Don't really care about the cover? Will a bad cover drive you away, but a good cover doesn't pull you in?

I will admit, a good cover will definitely pull me into a story but bad covers definitely won't drive me away, rather bad covers pulls my curiosity in.

Last edited:

AliceShiki

Magical Girl of Love and Justice
If your story has no cover, I don't even click it.

As for what exactly draws me in? I'm not sure in all honesty, I just need to like the cover... Though I guess my preference is for anime-style covers. In particular cute stuff.

BloodyLycoris

I would say for me it is 70% title and 30% cover for the novel.
Regarding what type of covers it may be hand drawn or realistic covers... As long as cover are appealing to me I will definitely click on the novel to know about the description and genre.
Then decide to read them if they are to my liking.

SourDaiDai