Fighting scene in a novel.

Horizon209

When writing a fighting scene, what do you focus on more? the movement and describing the fight or what the character will do and think during the fight?

Nahrenne

Pure and Innocent Maiden~
When writing a fighting scene, what do you focus on more? the movement and describing the fight or what the character will do and think during the fight?
I think the more fluid way is the actions.
Then again, I'm not very good at fighting scenes in general, so...

orz

X

CarburetorThompson

Fuel Atomization Enjoyer
I don’t try and write what a characters is thinking unless I can do it in one sentence or less. Unless a character has bullet time, a fight (assuming hand to hand/ melee not some wizard battle) isn’t a place to be thinking, it’s much more about instinct. I try to use good descriptive words, and keep flowery language to a minimum to make the sentences as short as possible so it reads fast, much like how many fights are.

Now if you’re doing something like a dog fight between planes, or a fight between two spaceships or something you can disregard all of that.

doravg

103/4001 (too lazy to count the stories again.)
I don’t try and write what a characters is thinking unless I can do it in one sentence or less. Unless a character has bullet time, a fight (assuming hand to hand/ melee not some wizard battle) isn’t a place to be thinking, it’s much more about instinct. I try to use good descriptive words, and keep flowery language to a minimum to make the sentences as short as possible so it reads fast, much like how many fights are.

Now if you’re doing something like a dog fight between planes, or a fight between two spaceships or something you can disregard all of that.
Thank you, I was wondering how to describe a fight scene that was coming up in my novel. Your advice helps me a lot.

lambenttyto