Good start. Looking for feedback on writing style/grammar/etc.

ngram

Hi all,

I recently, in the last couple of days, started posting a new series I was working on. It's my first time posting anything online ever, so I was super nervous about doing so; not so much about getting negative feedback or criticism, but not getting any at all. Luckily, graciously, I have a few comments and favorites already which makes me smile. It's a good start to me.

That being said, I am a fledgling writer who has dreams like most writers do to eventually, somehow, do it full time. As such, I am more worried about my style of writing and grammatical choices. Does it read easily? Are there constant, glaring mistakes that make my readers pause or interrupt the flow of the story? Is everything I'm doing from the ground up just awful and I need to rethink how to tell the story?

These kind of thoughts run rampant, so I was really wanting to reach out to other authors and see what their thoughts were on these questions of mine.

If you find the time, please read my prologue and/or the first chapter of my story. I know not everyone writes the same or can have the same tone of voice, but I would love any and all constructive criticism and opinions.

Thank you in advance for any help!

https://www.scribblehub.com/series/21642/delinquents-of-aristes-academy/

Last edited:

jinxs2011

Spud Cannon
Fairly good in terms of flow and general grammar, but just as an example, this para: