He said that his sister’s cousin’s dog’s owner’s cousin’s brother said:

Maple-Leaf

•Deceased
Whenever writing dialogue one(me) tends to write the phrase: “-s/he said” a lot.

I try to substitute it with other things like: suddenly s/he shouted: et, etc or: a mans voice rang through the room: Yada Yada...
stuff like that. But I feel it’s getting somewhat repetitive.

Should I just assume the reader will be able to tell who’s talking from what their saying and how they’re saying it? But what if the reader gets confused??? I’m a noob writer so I would like to make sure that my mediocre story, is at the very least, understandable.

Any advice?

LostLibrarian

There are some "tricks" I use though some more technically versed authors might disagree.

Instead of always using "he said, she said" (though those are important and should also be used) or similar words (answered, responded, pointed out, bellowed, etc), I often use some action description during her dialogue paragraph.

"Bla Bla Bla." She scratched the back of her head in embarrassment. "Bla Bla Bla Bla Bla."

Don't know whether there is theory against it or some native speakers will find fault with it, but so far it worked fine for me. You also mention again to whom the dialogue paragraph belongs, but it isn't the usual dialogue tag.

That said, never assume the readers know who is speaking. You can skip the tag in a one-on-one conversation for one or two short exchanges ("Yes" - "No" - "Yes" - "Oh," I said. "...") but always remind the reader. A tag used too often won't really bother most readers. They kinda skip it in their heads anyway after they see the person talking. But "forgetting" who is talking right now, having to go back to re-read the last paragraphs to make sense out of it, will take your reader out of the reading experience. And that seems a lot worse to me...

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 29316