How do you do layers?

peelsdeeni

The Unoriginal Disappointment
I'm trying to figure out how to do layers but I can't seem to get it. I just don't understand how the layers work. Can anyone explain it to?

ArcadiaBlade

I'm a Lazy Writer, So What?
You put one layer in the bottom, basically put it as the holder. Next, put a batter on top of the layer which should pick a choice on what you want to put it on. Then, finally add another layer before either coating it or add another batter to put another layer....

Wait, what layer are we talking about?

tiaf

ゞ(シㅇ3ㅇ)っ•♥•Speak fishy, read BL.•♥•
Who needs layers?

K5Rakitan

Level 34 👪 💍 Pronouns: she/whore ♀
For cutting hair? My mom looked up some videos on Youtube for that.

NotaNuffian

This does spark joy.
Layer cake is nice~

The Nhentai version. Not the urban dictionary version unless you are into scat.

Motsu

Game Lead Programmer x WebAppSoft
The same way I do your mom.

Cipiteca396

More Gasoline 🎶
I'd say think of it as a transparent page, with each page you draw on being separate from the rest. Anything you put on the bottom layer will be blocked by layers stacked on top. If you color an entire layer, it'll either totally block everything beneath it if it's opaque, or just modify it if it's not. I never really figured them out myself-

:blob_shock:Ahem... But I can safely say you should start with a background layer. Then you can have a layer for lineart, then a layer for coloring. Maybe a layer for shading as well. If you want, you can also split individual parts of the drawing into layer sections, with lineart, colors and shading all separated. That way you can color the hair and body differently, for instance.