Writing How do you write romance?

Wretch

Undead men tell tales
Hi I'm an amateur at writing romance as I have never actually written it before. I get worried that my writing of it is really awkward and I don't want to fall into any tropes. Idk if there are any specific things you should watch out for or things that can spice it up. Its BL so, I also don't want to make the uke into a girl. If you wanna read and give me an idea of how I'm going Jun Wang Fancies Me.
Yeah, so any advice is helpful.

AliceShiki

Magical Girl of Love and Justice
Well, the first advice I can give you, is to read this article from TVTropes, it will really help you in the "don't want to fall into any tropes" thing. It really helped me when I started to want to get into writing.

As for other tips... Hmmmmm... Well, I think the main and most important part about writing romance, is that you need to remember you have 2 characters. It's not the MC and their love interest, there isn't one person that dictates what the relationship is and the other that is dragged along. Both parts of the equation are equally important and have an equal say on how the relationship develops.

I am aware that power dynamics tend to play heavily into BL works, but just because there is a power dynamic involved, it doesn't mean the weaker part has no say in it.

Just remember that both characters are equally important and both must be well developed and feel real in order to make a good romance. You don't need to give each of them an equal amount of focus, but you should definitely not neglect developing one character and focus the entirety of the personality and growth in the other.