Writing How important glossary is for you?

SirDogeTheFirst

Lord Of The Potatoes
I am a novice writer who is trying to understand how to most effectively express the world I created to dear readers who spend their time reading my story.

Because of that glossary seems like the thing I needed. I can just write about new characters, items, creatures, etc. So when I add something new to my story, I can decrease the amount of explanation and focus more on plot and action, then people who might be interested in that new thing can read about it.

So, I want to ask. How often do you use the glossary, and do you think it is vital for world-building.

EternalSunset0

I don't think people typically go to it immediately, but I love the feature. Allows me to add some character sheets, profiles, and character art without needing them to intrude in the actual text in my story. Stuff like this that can be found in actual LNs but in portrait/profile form, kinda like those bestiaries or character journal/databases in JRPGs.

Actually, I think what I do with my volumes ends up being more of this when I think about it.

Then again, I say that about wanting art and tables to not intrude into the actual story text when I have plans to include actual insert-art in my work. Maybe in the future when I get better at drawing. The commissioned covers are enough expenses as they are right now lol.

Biggest-Kusa-Out-There

Futanari Enjoyer
I'd say it depends on what kind of story you're writing. If you have 250 characters, 1000 locations, 15 types of cultivation levels (for example), character backstory, explanation of species, etc. it's very useful for the reades, as it helps them keep tabs on your story's progress. If you introduce a character in chapter 2 and then they show up in chapter 1500, readers may not remember them, so it'd be useful to have them in your glossary instead of the reader re-reading your entire fiction.

I use it a little, it's treated me well so far.

Cipiteca396