Writing I need tips and tricks for writing combat scenes.

SirDogeTheFirst

Lord Of The Potatoes
I am currently working on a story with lots of combat in it, and these scenes change a lot as characters use different combat methods. From magic to exosuits, to good old-fashioned guns.

Currently, I am struggling to write these combat scenes as I am a novice writer and I almost have no experience.

To the point. I am open to any tips and tricks you use in your story and I'll be really ask some questions as well.

GreenHexagon

Error: Forbidden
Honestly, I haven't written combat scenes yet, by a good tip I would give is to make sure its clear who is shooting who and who is being decapitated. Also, don't make it too exaggerated or bland either.

Snusmumriken

Vagabond and traveller
rely on what writing does best - inner thoughts, feeling and emotions. Do not try to copy movies and games - they rely on visual media to tell a lot of the story.

Write what your character feels. Confusion of battle, ringing and deafness from loud noises, the taste of gunpowder, the smell of dirt and blood. Ever-increasing exhaustion of the fight.

Also, actual fights are quick - there might be minutes and hours of suspense but once the fight is on (especially if you are not trained) you will either win or loose very quickly or you will run out of stamina (which means losing)

SailusGebel

Okay, so my tip is solely about the technical aspect, and it's the way I write, so, it isn't the 'right' one. Do it as artists paint, with layers. First, you do the basic structure. You envision the fight in your head. Then you put it on paper and try to make the fight understandable for readers first and foremost. Then you add different things for 'flavor' like opinions from the side, sound effects, fancy words, and so on. And that's it. You're basically done.

Ai-chan

Queen of Yuri Devourer of Traps