Is Cycling similar to Running?

NotaNuffian

This does spark joy.
I made my MC have the ability to run at 30 mph flat without breaking a sweat for a couple of hours. So as an author I am trying to make him go faster and my selection boils down to cycling.

Fyi the ability is actually a skill from the system, so far the guy can no problem run front, backwards and sideways at that speed and I am planning for him to go faster as his skill grows. The scene requires him to do a car chase and all he has is a mountain bike, I am planning to handwave and say something like pedaling = running, thus he can cycle for speeds up to 50 to 60 mph, which in a city is quite fast.

So does the pedaling = running thing makes sense or I need to change/ alter things?

Last edited:

AliceShiki

Magical Girl of Love and Justice
This is something that should be pretty easy to handwave IMO, it's probably safe to do it the way you want~

NotaNuffian

This does spark joy.
This is something that should be pretty easy to handwave IMO, it's probably safe to do it the way you want~
Yeah, i am planning to just say "same way in moving your legs, but this time pedaling."

oblueknighto

Cycling isn't similar to running. They use different muscles and people good at running don't magically become good at cycling, vice versa.

However, cycling at 50 mph would be much easier than running at 30 mph. Running at 30 mph is just insane. That's faster than Usain Bolt and you're saying this dude can do this for hours without breaking a sweat. It's also insane how you're saying the MC can even move sideways... what? This person clearly isn't human anymore.

NiQuinn

ฅ/ᐠ ̳ .ᆺ. ̳ ᐟ\ฅ ~~ᴺʸᵃᵃ