Motsu's free editing and feedback thread!

Motsu

Game Lead Programmer x WebAppSoft
Hello. I am a new writer and would appreciate some feedback on my novel.

The Sacrifice | Scribble Hub

Thank you
I read your prologue and here is my take on it:

The story suffers from one-dimensional characters lacking depth, inconsistent tone shifts, unrealistic reactions, unclear transitions, and an unsatisfying resolution. It heavily relies on telling rather than showing, leading to a lack of emotional connection with the characters. Overall, the potential is there, but significant improvements are needed for a compelling and enjoyable read.

If you want me to be more specific about your story, then here:

*Note that since I've only read the prologue, most of what I am about to say might have already been fixed so focus on what haven't.*

The characters in the story are one-dimensional and lack depth. The grave robbers are portrayed as generic, fearful thieves, and the antagonist is a typical villain without any clear motivation or backstory. Developing the characters would have made their actions and decisions more believable and relatable.

The story struggles with maintaining a consistent tone. It starts with a tense and mysterious atmosphere as the robbers are in danger, but suddenly shifts to an almost comical scene when they discover the valuable jewel. Then, the antagonist's arrival and the ensuing horror with the corpses further disrupt the tone. The abrupt changes make it difficult for readers to immerse themselves in the story.

The grave robbers' reaction to finding a mysterious jewel in a cave filled with danger is unrealistic. They get carried away with excitement and celebration despite the obvious danger surrounding them. Such reactions make it hard for readers to empathize with the characters and take the story seriously.