Overused weapons types

Saileri

Your Friendly Neighborhood IT Guy
It's always situational and depends on how the character is built. One of my chars mains a whip and whip sword (being able to wield many more other weapons due to his artifact having a formless blade), while the other currently doesn't have a dedicated weapon, but the story is close to him acquiring gear compatible with him (which is the "overused" sword, but with a few creative twists, making it way less than a sword)

It's always best to consider how the character is built. For my third story, I'm currently considering a fun version of a polearm (no spoilers) or arm blades.

While swords are common and overused, it doesn't mean it's bad and may sometimes have a reason behind it while of course it can also not.

ArcadiaBlade

I'm a Lazy Writer, So What?
Swords and sabers are kinda overused but also true since they are not only balanced but perfect in any situation.

Spears are good but aren't good at tight areas and they are disadvantage on close range.

Axe also counts as well since all it doed is slashing and spears are more on penetration.

In every situation, most people would actually use weapons that covers all areas and the only logical choice to pick are swords for not only slashing but also penetration, it also provides a decent guard and covers most in small areas. Knives also covers this but lacks with the range the swords had so people would really pick a sword in realistic battles and cultivation actually proves swords are good at any enviroments or conditions set in situations.

witch_sorrowful

Mmm, Monke.
Depends on the type of story of course. I'm assuming you mean an Isekai Fantasay, or Cultivation Fantasy.