Spotlight TV series for good examples of writing.

Jemini

Part of improving your own ability to write is looking at how other writers have practiced their craft. I find that you can sometimes actually learn more from a TV series than you can from another person's web novel. TV series are also writing, someone has to write the screen-play for every single episode of the series and a lot of planning goes into the whole thing.

Writing for TV is something that also presents several challenges. I have no experience with it myself, but you can easily picture it. What is normally put across with descriptive details is instead portrayed visually. There are very seldom few cases where there is a narrator present in a show. Meanwhile, the medium allows for the character and the dialogue to shine through far better than it does from most written stories, and it allows the viewer with a critical eye to learn more about character portrayals.

I thought we should probably share a few of the better examples of TV or internet streaming service series that someone can learn from. Here are a few of my selections (more may be added in later posts in the thread.)

The Twilight Zone (Original 1959 black-and-white version)

The Twilight Zone is a series of short stories in which, in the majority of the episodes, something paranormal happens. In the few episodes where there is nothing paranormal, a person's extreme abnormal situation has various consiquences that result from their actions and life choices. In either case, every single episode contains 2 stories (each short story taking half the episode) that uses excellent minimalistic story telling, getting all the important points out in a "show-don't-tell" way, and getting all the important points across as quickly as possible in its short run time.