Thought cascades - Room for world building?

Beta_Krogoth

Hey everyone, i'm very new to scribblehub and my welcome has been warm so thank you all! I've been producing my own worlds and stories since I was kid (i'm reaching that dreaded three zero soon... ugh...) and I got dragged into the furry fandom when I was younger, although I was sensible enough not to get dragged too deeply into it, despite that, being in that sort of environment definitely tilts ones writing and as a result, I did write a lot of smut but generally these days, my appetite for writing that stuff has diminished a lot. I've been writing more actual world buildy stuff recently and decided to post it on here, as it doesn't usually get any attention on other sites - to my surprise - I came back to a couple of comments this morning which was really pleasant!

I'm going to be writing up new details and re-doing some older ones, but do people here enjoy reading about about a world as much as a direct story itself? I've always likened the world itself to a character and i've tried to develop something that is intriguing to think about, with rules and systems that enable complexity, but have defined values to prevent things from running out of control.

If you're interested, the first couple of chapters explain a little about the basic premise of the universe and go into detail regarding anomalous materials, something I hope stirs questions and ideas in you - would love feedback on this one if you do read. I'm considering the idea of commissioning someone to draw up those materials too.

Zirrboy

Fueled by anger
Does a "Heavy Weapons" story exist anywhere or is this a standalone?

Temple

Oh, it's more like a wiki then? Some authors do go this route like tons of world building first and someday they'll start their book with a fully fleshed out world already. Brandon Sanderson kind of does that.