Editing [Tutorial] Test Your Story's Popularity Potential -- Beta-Readers

OokamiKasumi

Author of Quality Smut
Testing your Story's Popularity Potential!
Beta-Readers
So, you wanna know if your story has what it takes to thrill and interest your readers? Believe it or not, this is easier to do than you might think. What you need is a Beta-Test.

BEFORE you post that fantastic fic on a story site, before the publishing editor gets their grubby paws on your glorious tale, get your hands on a few Beta-Readers and have then test read your stuff before you expose it to the world.

DISCLAIMER: As with all advice, take what you can use and throw out the rest. As a multi-published author, I have been taught some fairly rigid rules on what is publishable and what is not. If my rather straight-laced (and occasionally snotty,) advice does not suit your creative style, by all means, IGNORE IT.

Beta.jpg

Have you hugged your Beta Reader today?
Anyone who writes with the intent to be read by the public, from the brand-name published authors to the fan-fiction scribbler, will tell you that a good Beta-Reader is worth their weight in GOLD.

Most Beta-Readers look for obvious grammar boo-boos and glaring spelling errors, but the really good ones look at your story as a whole and tell you where your strengths and weaknesses are so you can adjust them.

WHO do you get?

Not proof-readers and NOT line editors!
I have a hard-core line editor and he only gets the book when it's COMPLETED. I never allow anyone to do typo or grammar checking while I am writing. I wait until the very end. Stopping for grammar kills my creative momentum. Also, I rewrite as I write so much that by the time someone gets back to me to tell me I have a typo or repeated something, I've probably already corrected it or moved it.

Those who post on Story sites:
-- Definitely get a typo check before you post your current chapter, but AFTER your Beta-readers have gotten back to you!

NO SPOUSES.