What are the benefits & problems with a main character with luck based abilities?

Can you incorporate luck into stories?

• Total voters

Cauldrons

I think it goes to say that luck plays a part of everybody's life. Less so within the confines of stories and the authors iron grip on the story and its world, but we can pretend that some of the characters and world events are left up to luck. I have a question for the authors reading this; have you ever successfully integrated luck into your story without if feeling contrived or like you needed to step in to save a character from a situation they by all rights should have survived?

The reason I bring this up is because even though I'm a terrible author myself as I don't have the patience for it I have a character concept that I just can't get out of my head. My idea goes like this in any situation, fighting someone, shooting a bow, or gambling the character always has a 50% to succeed and a 50% chance to fail no matter what. Meaning the character could snipe someone from 500 feet away or just as easily lose a fight to a rat. I don't know just how easy a character like this would be to write. Would it be true luck if at the end of the day the author decides when they succeed or fail? Could you introduce something like the author flipping a coin in order to see if they succeed or fail and still write a good story?

Cipiteca396

🌺🌑🐉🪶 Anxiety Overdrive
Yes, using a coin or dice to write the story can work. Even if you have a fixed plot you want to write. That just makes it more fun to try and figure out how you're gonna bullshit your way into getting the MC to surpass your bad luck.

Syringe

Bluetooth 7 Enabled Holy Blade w/ Red Dot Sight
At the end of the day, it's up to you as the Author to disguise the order of events as luck. Convince your readers that it arbitrary, but you do actually control how things go. I wouldn't rely on physically flipping a coin to determine the direction of your story.