When to reply to readers? And not be a ****?

WinterFairy

Hello everyone. I'm quite new at writing novels, including sharing them online. :sweat_smile:
And I can't help but wonder when is it okay for the author to reply to readers comments?

For I don't know... If a reader asks a question about the story like: Why is X so strong? This doesn't make sense?
Is it okay to reply and try to explain it? Or is that too much? Will one sound like a lecturing ****? Or an helpful author who forgot to explain this aspect? :sweating_profusely:

Maybe the readers write questions for other readers to comment on? Or do they expect the author to answer their plot-hole theory or other good questions, for like, I've seen some pretty good ones that make me go!? :blob_hmm:

Edit: Thanks for all the good feedback :blob_okay:

Last edited:

Phantomheart

Cliff Hanger Player
Hello everyone. I'm quite new at writing novels, including sharing them online. :sweat_smile:
And I can't help but wonder when is it okay for the author to reply to readers comments?

For I don't know... If a reader asks a question about the story like: Why is X so strong? This doesn't make sense?
Is it okay to reply and try to explain it? Or is that too much? Will one sound like a lecturing ****? Or an helpful author who forgot to explain this aspect? :sweating_profusely:

Maybe the readers write questions for other readers to comment on? Or do they expect the author to answer their plot-hole theory or other good questions, for like, I've seen some pretty good ones that make me go!? :blob_hmm:
When it comes to things they ask about regarding plot holes or things about the story that reveals spoilers (which are usually foreshadowing in my case hehe) I just answer with a “you will see soon (some cheeky emoji” or give them an explanation if they missed anything specifically that would lead them to a different conclusion.

Ram5