Will vibrations be felt in a tunnel from a mech battle above ground?

YuriDoggo

Angery Doggo >ᴗ<
Like a couple of 10 meter tall mechs smacking each other around with appropriately sized weapons. Or large tank-sized rifle rounds hitting the ground when missing.
Upper layer is dirt, stone, and finally like two meters of concrete around the tunnel itself.

Could you feel the battle if the total material thickness is 10 meters? 15? 20?

Edit: The battle is taking place above ground, while the reference person is below ground.

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 22388

To me, it sure will, cause I just got transport because of your description.

If it's ten metre thick concrete...
Then maybe I could hear big but small muffled sound
Same goes for the impact...

On another simulation, I think I won't notice it unless I put my left ear to the wall(to hear that vibration)

I'm no expert, just using my geuss of logic.

ChubbyLiv

The concrete is enforced with steel, above it is a thick layer of dirt and soil to reduce the sound and vibrations. I'd assume there is a loud trafic above the ground (cars, people, etc.) As long as they don't pierce through the tunel, people below should be clueless about things happening above them.

Inside the tunel, the further away you're from the battle, the less you'd hear and feel. (The concrete will deflect some damage, while the soil around the tunel would reduce the vibrations from transfering further away.) The sound of the battle will transfer to you faster than the vibrations.

Conclusion, 10-20m is a looot. You shouldn't feel any battle vibrations. It'll scatter before it reaches the tunel. Soil is a decent soundproof material. You shouldn't hear anything specific either. That's if the firepower doesn't equal a meteorite falling from the sky.

Last edited:

Sabruness

Cultured Yuri Connoisseur