Words a day and how long do you write?

Ilikewaterkusa

You have to take out their families...
On a good day how much words do you write and a good day how long do you write for?

Jailbreak571

Former CEO of Kamazon. Active lurker
I'm a new writer and on a good day, I write maybe 2k~ and on how long is maybe 4-6h. Yeah, takes almost all my time to write a single chapter and this is on a good day version of me.

Paul_Tromba

Sleep deprived mess of a published author
I can write 800-1200 words an hour and I usually write around 1-3 hours a day depending on how much time I have.

georgelee5786

2024 Shovel Duel Champion
I average about 700-900 words per day. I'm not sure how long I write because I have the timekeeping sense of a gnat.

BenJepheneT

Light Up Gold - Parquet Courts
My highest streak is an average of 2k per day throughout two months. Otherwise, I try to keep a solid 500 a day. I find that my quality dips like steel beams against jet fuel whenever I try to rush my word count. I just end up trying to hit a specific word count rather than actually doing my best writing good shit.

I'm telling you lads, don't buy into the shitty daily word count meme. Those are reserved for professional writers. We're shitty amateurs who get net financial negatives just to have our shit published online. What you need is practice and techniques, not quantity. Don't wring yourself dry if you can't reach a certain daily goal; remember that you want your stuff to be valuable, and not surplus.

Ay89AZ

I try and write at minimum of 400 a day. It lets me progress with my projects a little better since one of them is short form and the other requires a lot more energy. Four hundred takes like 15 mins a day. If it's a good day, I can write more. I don't know what would be a good number of chapters to stock up on before publishing. Does anyone have any idea?

TheEldritchGod

A Cloud Of Pure Spite And Eyes
Oh. 600 an hour is good. Assuming you do editing.

1. JUST WRITE IT.