You get reincarnated into... a completely normal tournament?

Malonymous

There is no secret organization with a nefarious agenda, no evil cults who show up at the last minute to crash the party, no hidden villains who try to ruin your day or steal your pokemans. Nope, it's literally just a plain ol' fighting tournament that you're signed up for in the world you get reincarnated into.
You can choose your magic powers and fighting skills, and you'll get lots of money or a wish if you win, but other than that, how do you make your story interesting?

Do you pursue love interest(s) on the side?
Is the tournament just a stepping stone to something even bigger?
Or... do you become the villain of the story and do whatever it takes to win?

It really is just a 'normal' fighting tournament with none of the usual tournament tropes and absolutely no twists! (At least, no twists of its own...)

Last edited:

ArcadiaBlade

I'm a Lazy Writer, So What?
There might be no twist but there is no way to make a story boring if you only lack creativity. One can make the MC whose not overpowered but relies on his wit and skills to the test, the MC could be OP but make the fights interesting as he would make his opponent cower in fear at the overwhelming force but make it so that the enemy would still have a fighting chance and defeat him in a climatic clash as you hold back. Or....

Wait a moment, I think the juice has run out of my system, brb. gonna snort some more.

Jemini

The concept of a tournament arc has become so wide-spread that there are literally hundreds like you just described out there. In fact, the "boring" tournament arcs literally out-number the twist tournament arcs, and most of the "trope-filled" tournament arcs exist in anime while the rest of the "boring" ones are in all the other media out there.