How do you make your outline?

Keene

Squat Enjoyer and Programmer
In complete contrast to how I've tried to write for years, I've now found that writing without an outline produces my best work.

I would previously imagine an awesome scene, or conversation, cliff hanger and then try and outline my way to that point. 95% of attempts this failed for me.

I think the difference for me was I finally came up with some characters whose voice I both liked and understood to the point where I would put them in a room, at the start of the chapter, knowing nothing less than the opening sentence and to my surprise everything else would flow from there.

Shockingly I also found all those awesome moments, bits of conversation that I think the readers would love, those cliff hangers, all that and more just started to come out naturally as I wrote, on the spot.

Which is surprising for me, as someone who his highly analytical, being a programmer and all, to find I was a discovery writer.

Last edited:

AmeronWerschrux

Do you like them complex like a detective's pin board, or do you like them simple like your dog's brain?

I have a good memory and bachelor in arts of laziness, so most of the time I just think of the major points that I want on my story and then the ending that I wanted.
Honestly, I write what pops into my mind. I do have a sort of segregating system and the main ideas that my chapters would rotate around. I say you don't follow what I do though XD

DannyTheDaikon

I came here to laugh at you
I tried writing without outlining, writing down key points and proper detailed outline and while the last option takes the most time it also provides the best results. It's easier to notice any problematic plot holes, makes writing faster, because most things are already planned and helps with avoiding mistakes.
Everyone works differently, though. Just try everything and see what works the best for you.

xuduxixi

a sloth that wants to be great