Envy's Free Feedback Thread [Thread Closed]

RepresentingEnvy

En-Chan Queen Vampy!

Hello! I humbly submit my offerings to the Queen of the Night!

warnings: first work, newbie author. First 7 parts are short snippets/scenes ~500 words to introduce a wide cast. First longer chapter is 2. Afia Hears Something She Shouldn’t Have.

If you only have time to read one chapter, I’d prefer if you read This Cult Lacks a Personality (2) ~500 words or 5. Silnarion Establishes New Leadership ~1000 as I feel like my writing is getting a little better as I progress.

thank you so much in advance!
🦇Preface🦇
I am not a professional reviewer/author, so take my opinion with a grain of salt.
Writing Enjoyment: 🩸🩸🩸🩸(4/5)
This may very well end up being one of the shortest feedbacks. Mostly because it is so well written. I read the entire first chapter so far, all 7 of "This Cult Lacks Personality". And I have even added it to my reading list.

There are no grammar mistakes or punctuation mistakes that I noticed while reading the whole thing. The only useful criticism I can give for the writing, and the reason why I didn't give 5 🩸 is that the paragraphs and dialogue are sometimes too long for a WN format. Other than that, I enjoy your writing a ton!

But one more thing is maybe don't have lore dump chapters, and instead slowly dump the lore in throughout? I understand people not knowing what terms mean might put them off, but I would rather figure it out through the context of the story.
Personal Enjoyment: 🦇🦇🦇🦇🦇(5/5)
There isn't much to say here again, since I enjoyed it. I didn't even realize I was only reading one chapter the whole time. The theme and the characters had me intrigued. This will contradict a bit of what I said before, but that one long monologue with the Magpie radiates some insanity that I just love. It reminds me of Petelguese from Re: Zero. (monologue in part 7)