I want to write, but i cant think of a "direction."

Hi, I'm a new wannabe writer and I have a problem.
I have loved reading stories (primarily fiction) for a long time, and would like to write my own. I have had a few story ideas, but not really whole story plans. I mainly have ideas for settings, a "magic system" or two, and some protags. I have some ideas of how I would like them to turn out, but I can't connect beginning to middle to end; and let alone to make a middle in the first place.

The best way I can summarize this is that, I have some foundation, but I can't figure out where I want to go with it. Direction feels like the correct term for it.

If you may, I would love any advice anyone may like to provide.

Ps. Bouta sleep, so will come back to absorb data ltr.

Jessie_Emilyn

If you have enough of the foundation, a world, characters, systems then put the character into it and see where they go, what do they want? What motivates them? What scares them? What might make a path forward happen?

I tend to write in a way that if I don't have ideas on the details I just unleash the characters into the world and see where they end up. There is no shame in just making something that doesn't work, it is about the writing not the quality. Anything to start writing. Sometimes my ideas come from minor things, a "what if" or "this would be a great ending" sometimes even inspired by dreams or just worlds I dream up. The more you write the more you will be able to write and connect with the characters. Don't be afraid to scrap your writing either, sometimes I can write chapters and remove them (I actually cut and paste them away so I still have it if I want to adapt it or just re-read it).