Any animators here? Advice you would give to complete beginners?

Verdante

So I want to start animating chibis or cute little animals enough for tiktok videos/youtube shorts. Any advice on how to learn simple animation? What programs do you use? Thank you!!

Any advice on how to learn simple animation?
Start by doing a keyframe exercise.
Things might have changed since the 00s
but everyone started off by doing a bouncing ball

Typically animation runs at 12 frames per sec
Depending on how fast you want to bounce your ball, see what happens when you draw 4 keyframes, and place them in the sequence.

Or just play around with it

it's good to feel what... elasticity is and use keyframes

I think Photoshop lets you load images and output animation from it.

So I imagine GIMP can do it too?

That is the basics.

I imagine there are many tutorials online...

actually, that picture is from a sampler

Verdante

Start by doing a keyframe exercise.
Things might have changed since the 00s
but everyone started off by doing a bouncing ball

Typically animation runs at 12 frames per sec
Depending on how fast you want to bounce your ball, see what happens when you draw 4 keyframes, and place them in the sequence.

Or just play around with it

it's good to feel what... elasticity is and use keyframes

I think Photoshop lets you load images and output animation from it.

So I imagine GIMP can do it too?

That is the basics.

I imagine there are many tutorials online...

actually, that picture is from a sampler
Thank you so much!!

Akaichi

Try using blender, although it is mainly for 3d and using it 2D is a little finicky, it can do some crazy 2d animation and learning it is worth it as it will soon become a new standard, and it's FREE!
Flash(Adobe Animate nowadays) is very pricey and although it is a classic(Many animation companies still use it) it is a little old at the moment.
Photoshop is cool, but yet again, pricey.

ManwX

Im from a Timeline where nuclear war destroyed all