Finding my identity as an author

theartofwar901

Those who fail to plan, plan to fail.

I tend to live my life by that adage. Jumping into something blindly is a big form of self-sabotage. Although, planning too much and never taking action as well can be another form of self-sabotage, it's very important to have balance. Some things can take a lifetime to master. Are you going to wait your whole life before you write your first novel? I'd say it's better to take action than to spend your whole life planning for something and forgetting the take action part.

From the business books I've read I know it's also important to set goals. Realistic goals. That's how you get things done without procrastinating. By giving yourself a deadline so to speak. Right now, I'm studying Cartomancy and Data Science. So, I have to get that done before I can begin my book authoring journey. Being motivated is also important when you want to accomplish something.

What should your motivations be you ask? They can be anything. Like a carrot on a string being strung out in front of a racing horse to make him go, it's a big help to have something very valuable to you as a motivational factor. My motivations are the fact that I would love to have some passive income coming in. Who doesn't like to get paid while they sleep. Once a book is on a shelf or a digital kobo or kindle format, all you have to do is sit back and let your bank account expand without lifting a finger. Isn't that great. I don't know why, but for some reason I have some kind of urge to make some kind of mark on the world. I have no clue why I have that desire, but it's there. What should your motivations be behind getting your books done? It should be different for everyone. Everyone is different and everyone should have different motivations behind what they want to accomplish.