Hey everyone! Can you give me your honest feedback and criticism of my novel?

Rockingashe

This is my first time writing a novel and wanted to see what everyone thinks I need to improve on. Thank you all in advance!

TheMonotonePuppet

A Writer With Enthusiasm & A Jester of Christmas!
This is my first time writing a novel and wanted to see what everyone thinks I need to improve on. Thank you all in advance!

Hello, hello! Wanted to see if I could help! I'm surprised nobody's here before I am, I'm pretty new to the server, but I can offer some constructive criticism.
First off, there is very little characterization going on, very little in the ways of expressions and reactions, for descriptions of tones. The dialogue is pretty awkward and generic as well. For example, let's look at the 2nd-to-first paragraph!
<It had been a depressing day for me. "I don't understand why she had to say that before we graduated, I thought we had something." I thought back to that moment before I walked up to take my diploma, Jenny was staring at me, she looked saddened by something.>
Just declaring that it had been depressing often leads readers to be like "No duh... got anything else? Or is that it?"
You can be far more elaborate! Make these things your special snowflake in the literary world and avoid telling, and use that showing instead! You want this person to have personality, right? Well, you should describe that personality, infuse it into every word.
Out of the blue, Jenny just broke up with him. The man has to be feeling numb; sick to his stomach; incredibly angry but also befuddled and sad.. Or worse, he has a background that made it so he has terrible self-esteem, so he is absolutely terrified that something is so awful about him that Jenny is using her parents as an excuse to leave him because she can't stand to be around him anymore, and he just spirals into an anxiety-ridden mess.