My idea for a Magic System.

Sylver

I don't have a name that encompasses it yet, but this is my first attempt at making a magic system for my Monster Girl Chronicles series. It is a Medieval inspired Fantasy setting full of Magic and Monsters where stories can vary from small to large stakes. It has romance, action, magic, growth and development, along with its share of smut as well.

That being said, I have big plans for the MGC content assuming that the first book gains enough popularity and positive reception. This is my idea for a magic system, any questions or feedback would be greatly appreciated. You will be given a cookie at the end for reading this through to the end. Thank you!

Magic itself is an essence that remains under discovery, with thousands of ongoing research finding out more and more about it's potential and capabilities. It is described as neither a art or a science, but something in between. Magic is a source of energy that surrounds all things, with a stronger attraction surrounding living organisms like plant life, animals, and even cellular organisms carry a faint but noticeable attraction. Centuries of studies have narrowed their understanding of magic into two layers that work together and are split into subcategories.

Magic of the Created

The first layer of magic focuses on two sources of essence called Light and Darkness, or Dark for short. These terms describe its nature, where Light Magic gives and Dark Magic takes. The terms stem from not only the nature of its essence but also describes its appearance, as Light Magic appears through a bright yellow light while Dark Magic carries a darker shadowy aura surrounding the user.