New author seeks help/tips

CreationWillL

Evening together,

Since I have enough time at the moment, I want to write my own story.

It's my first time, so I'd like to get a few tips in advance.

What interests me is the following:

So, how do I create a good power system?
Also, how do I create a good world-building?
What do I have to pay attention to when creating the characters?
Can I avoid plot armor?

PS: I have an editor, so you don't have to point out my crappy English:)

melchi

What is a custom title?
For new writers just focus on clarity and consistency. If what one writes gets the message across as expected then that should be a good start. If said person can keep doing it regularly then that is better than most.

LilRora

Mostly formless
Frankly, if someone wanted to fully answer all four questions you asked (especially the first two) it would turn into a whole essay. The most important thing is not to try to write something amazing outright; personally, I say it's to slowly but surely improve the little things you notice can be done better.

To start with though, when you're creating the world, the characters, the power system, or basically whatever, I can tell from experience, don't try to make them perfect. It sucks up a massive amount of time and doesn't benefit your story much. It's generally way better to make something you like, focusing only on 2-4 key points, and flesh out the details as you write more, or don't specify them at all. Reader's imagination is way more powerful than some people think and will fill out those details by itself.