The Curse of the Tense

mrsimple

Writer
So, nowadays, I deal with an issue of using "past perfect" when I should be using "simple past" tenses, but I had issues before with present and past tenses, then I learned a few lessons from Trismegistus Shandy. I'm still learning, but sometimes it is difficult for me to remember absolutely everything I was told.

I've tried proofreading, but a lot of times I have to speak aloud for me to pick up something not sounding right. A lot of other times, I relied on another editing my works (mostly Shandy) and discovering where I strayed off the path.

What do you all do to consistently keep the correct tense in that narrative of yours? Are there other methods rather than the few I depend on?

Last edited:

Stormie

[Kite-Flying On A Boat ⛵]
So, nowadays, I deal with an issue of using "past perfect" when I should be using "simple past" tenses, but I had issues before with present and past tenses, then I learned a few lessons from Trismegistus Shandy. I'm still learning, but sometimes it is difficult for me to remember absolutely everything I was told.

I've tried proofreading, but a lot of times I have to speak aloud for me to pick up something not sounding right. A lot of other times, I relied on another editing my works (mostly Shandy) and discovering where I strayed off the path.

What do you all do to consistently keep the correct tense in that narrative of yours? Are there other methods rather than the few I depend on?
A lot of proofreading. Though I'm mostly used to tenses now, there would always been those typos or wrong subject verb agreements that went unnoticed. Sometimes, I ask others to proofread it, too. They could give comments at the same time.

Just get used to the rules and use grammar correction apps like grammarly for good measures. Oh and write more while being conscious of it. At some point, it will come natural to you.

HappyVainGlory