Writing the feeling when you re-read and rewrite your sentences over and over

AetherialCore

Have you ever had that feeling when you want to convey something to the reader but struggle to find the right sentences to do it, worrying whether the flow of the paragraph or chapter was good enough?

I know that a writer should not underestimate the readers' intelligence by dumbing things down like they're idiots who can't read; but as a writer, I also want my story to have a good reading flow.

It has been two hours, and I got less than two-hundred words thanks to being stuck in this state. Send help.

APieceOfRock

Yuri Lover, endeed!
Yes. I jsut break down what I want to describe to its most simple form and edit it. That seems to work a lot of the times.
But I never experience it when writing fight scenes. If you can't put it into words the first time around, maybe you shouldn't put it in at all.

LilRora

Mostly formless
In Camus' "The Plague", one of the main characters is rewriting the first sentence of his book over and over, wanting it to sound as good as it possibly can. His dream is to write a story that would amaze people.

And yet, all he ever writes is a single sentence, rephrased over and over.

Don't be like him.

My advice is to take a break and come back to it later, then write it, focusing on how you want it to sound and the most important pieces of information, and leave just the way you do at first. Don't overthink it; just include what you want to be there, how you want it to be there, and move on.

For how, remember that you do not have to write perfectly, but in consistent style - the problem with objectively perfect storytelling is that it's not beautiful or immersive. Think who and how is telling the story and imagine them doing just that.

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 54065