What draws you in?

Kaffeina

As someone with two stories in the works and one in the backburner, I'm curious as to what draws readers in. Primarily, what types of cover art, summaries, or even chapter titles catch your interest. Feel free to mention the genre of course, but I'm asking for a more general perspective here.

Ilikewaterkusa

You have to take out their families...
Generally it’s the cover art, the titles, and first 3 chapters that draw me in.

ArcadiaBlade

I'm a Lazy Writer, So What?
Its mainly the title and the summary. They first draw in readers who would get curious and would try out reading the first chapter after knowing what novel title it has and what summary it shows. Second would be the cover but it mainly distincts what type of story you want to write. If the artstyle its good, it means you plan on writing a good novel. If its sht, you want to write a parody. It it styles a bit on western art, it holds a bit of sexual/political or any gender fluid type of story which depends if readers would prefer that.

Most are drawn in towards on the anime art(since it means you follow a certain anime trend) while western art sometimes would send mix signals which it mainly depends on the story and not the cover if readers are to get interested in.

Lastly would be on the first chapter. These would judge if its worthwhile to read your novel or not. It holds the critical role if readers were to continue to read your story or not.

Kaffeina