Any general tips or whatever for learning to draw?

Napalm

Well, lately I've been trying to teach myself to draw. I kind of don't know what to do exactly or how to learn, but I'm steadily improving. I look at a lot of art and analyze it to see how they made it. Then i try to recreate it from memory. But I heard that that is basically copying it, which will not let you improve at all.

So in general, do you have any tips on what to learn? Something like perspective? Or do I just keep on drawing stuff till I can call myself half decent. Well, I'll do both anyways, but I just wanna know any tips.

Maldon

Read keys to drawing, it's an excellent book for begginers and with lots of good practical info.

BigHoodieBoy

Now, I’m not that good at art, like so bad I’m not gonna post anything online anytime soon, but if doing art has taught me one thing, it’s practice makes perfect. Of course, other things are important too like colors and shading, but practice is numero uno.

Aoibh

Mademoiselle
Well, lately I've been trying to teach myself to draw. I kind of don't know what to do exactly or how to learn, but I'm steadily improving. I look at a lot of art and analyze it to see how they made it. Then i try to recreate it from memory. But I heard that that is basically copying it, which will not let you improve at all.

So in general, do you have any tips on what to learn? Something like perspective? Or do I just keep on drawing stuff till I can call myself half decent. Well, I'll do both anyways, but I just wanna know any tips.
It’s about breaking it down, you can learn how to do that from artists on youtube, there is a lot of videos about it! Check Ethan Becker, Sinix Design, proko, Ergo Josh, BoroCG, Drawing Art Academy, KNKL - Kienan Lafferty, etc~

Last edited:

owotrucked

Isekai express delivery
Don't trust every tips.