Crafting A Contained Story

MajorKerina

Hi, I am an author and I have a problem. It’s basically the literary equivalent of feature creep. I have a bunch of stories set in various universes which could spend hundreds to thousands of pages on epic events and small personal ones too.

For the future and my sanity and my reader’s sanities, I have decided to make a plan of a short story which can’t possibly creep out of control… Maybe.

The premise is this… there is a character who has a supernatural power which enables them to make contact with spirits or ghosts, and temporarily give them a physical form again. They have a whole backstory, a whole history, and all that. But for this story I’m focusing on a jail/now museum with a menagerie of conscious spirits.

The person who runs it is a little bit psychic and was saved by one of the strongest ghosts when she was about to fall and die. Ever since, she has been searching for a way to repay that debt. This particular ghost she considers like a sibling. It has appeared as both a man and a woman, but has unresolved feelings about having been a man in life. It’s a very kindly, sweet ghost who has done remarkable things (based on a real one from a podcast I listened to). But it has such a hopeless aura. So. this is where the character with the power comes in.

The lady who runs the museum contacts the main character and asks him to help. He can only bring back a ghost for one evening, from dusk till dawn.

So he comes and resurrects this ghost as a lady of that time (the late 40s/early 50s) and… that would be the rest of the story. What happens with her over the course of one night.

Sort of spooky also heartwarming and very intentionally constricted to a finite amount of time so that I don’t go off on all sorts of tangents and make an epic of it.