Fake Heroine

Venusaur26

I’ve read some novels and Korean manga where it turns out the sweet innocent heroine turns out to be the true villainess, nastier than how the female lead was!
I don’t know if characters like these could be considered White Lotus type or whatever
I wish to know how plot twists like that are done right…

bananapink

The Sickly Banana
White lotus definitely. But she got to have valid reason for being malicious and evil (lust for power, attention, or love). Sociopath fake heroines are good at dealing with people. She knows how to get into their good graces and project a noble persona.

ArcadiaBlade

I'm a Lazy Writer, So What?
Considering Soap operas are done in my place, I think those people are mostly affected by the distinction between the common people and the rich.

It was set up that the main villian is actually the rich people but because of a long grudges and the personality of a long awaited revenge, it slowly morphs the narrative that the villian was actually slowly becoming increasingly good while the poor to rich character slowly embraces the power they achieve, slowly becoming the villian themselves, without knowing their own objectives shifted from taking revenge to amassing power.

I used to watch these shows with my mom(at that time where I didn't know the internet existed yet, so probably 10 years or more), she tends to tell me how the villain was supposed to be repenting her ways while the protagonist slowly began to embrace the power she acquired and becoming evil. I actually began to love the narrative, even though I didn't like the shoujo soap operas at that time(it might be thats how I slowly began to get interested in the shoujo genre).

Ilikewaterkusa

You have to take out their families...
I’ve read some novels and Korean manga where it turns out the sweet innocent heroine turns out to be the true villainess, nastier than how the female lead was!