My OCD is ruining my love for writing.

• Thread starter Deleted member 61829
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 61829

I really want to just come up here and vent. I've been diagnosed with a plethora of things. From Bipolar, to Agoraphobia, to Generalized Anxiety Disorder, to--well you get the picture. Anyways, I used to love writing. Everyday I would write shitty fanfiction, and dreamed of becoming a fantasy writer one day, and as I got older and better at writing things just you know spiraled down hill. I developed a set of rules in my head.

1. Work has to be professional. Especially the editing.
2. I have to sound like I'm a professional even researching different synonyms of ordinary words.
3. I have to write exactly 55,000 words or else I'll fail as an author.
4. I have to have the words in a sentence line up or I'll have super anxiety.
5. Sentence structure should be perfect and I should research it more or else I won't be a good writer.
6. I have to outline this way or that way or try to find a way to outline or else I'll never be able to be a good writer.

Rules like that that just make writing impossible. If my structure or writing seems a bit off right now. I'm purposely doing that to combat my OCD because if not I'll be writing the same thing over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over and---well you get the idea. If I have word count on I have to keep track of how many words I have and if I don't meet that goal then I can't stop for the day. I have to continue until I meet that goal. It's gotten to the point that I'm terrified of writing anything because I know I'll be stuck on how a sentence looks, or how many errors are in the document. I really want to enjoy writing again. I miss it.

I also have a horrible time re-reading a certain sentence and then erasing it. If anyone has suggestions on how to continue writing without having an OCD panic attack I'd appreciate it. I'm also in therapy.

autumnveir