Could someone please give their thoughts on my writing style?

Luxican

Hello!
I'm new to SH, a new and rather inexperienced writer at that.
I've seen someone else write a post like this before, so I thought why not try it myself (I'm sorry I'm such a copycat...). I've never gotten any kind of constructive criticism to my writing, so I would be very glad if someone could point out any issues. (It could even be 'Your writing sucks!' as long as a reason is stated lol)
My native language also isn't English, so I'm extremely insecure about my writing...
Following is an excerpt of my novel's first chapter.

'Januar could feel tears welling up in his eyes.

They were right. They were all right.

He swallowed his sob, but it remained in his throat like a lump, making it difficult for him to breathe. His heart was hurting as he tried in vain to hide his card.

"And Jan? What is it? Let me see your card. We are all so excited to see how new and special the next Stolz Card will be!" With these words Leopold, a good friend of Frederic, grabbed Januar's card from his hand.

Januar could feel a cold shiver running down his back when the card was snatched from him. He felt hot and cold intermittently and had to swallow hard before hesitantly turning to his classmates.

"What? The Frog Prince? Pfff, what are you? A princess? Or the frog?" Leopold cackled with laughter and could not calm down, the other students joined in.

"Does that mean that when he kisses someone, he becomes pretty? Ewww, that's disgusting!" Sophie and her gang continued to pick on him, giggling.

Januar could no longer suppress his blush of shame, his cheeks began to burn again, his gaze dropped to his black sneakers while he tried to hide his face with his hands.

"Whoa, look! There are also intestines and severed legs on the back! What a psycho you are, Jan, hahaha!"