Crossing Gender Mentality

Mwpensword

So as a male cisgender I have little to no knowledge of the inside of the female mind. If I wanted to try writing a female protagonist in the future what should I read in preparation? Any good research sites for the mindset and psychology? Also, this would be a good place to discuss male psychology for women authors as well.

Moonpearl

The Yuri Empress
My best advice would be to not fall into the trap of thinking of us as an alien species that you need to study up on to understand.

Also to avoid believing the lies of incels and other people who think women really are an alien species.

atgongumerki

From my point of view, gender is nothing important.
If you only change the gender of a character, the character remains as viable as before.

P.S. Gender is one of the last things I put on a character because of the aforementioned reasons.

Saileri

Your Friendly Neighborhood IT Guy
My best advice would be to not fall into the trap of thinking of us as an alien species that you need to study up on to understand.
Also to avoid believing the lies of incels and other people who think women really are an alien species.

True words spoken, always set yourself in the character's place as a PERSON and try to think what fits them in terms of PERSONALITY and not just gender. Both men and women can be tough, meek, scaredy, proud, valiant, evil, heroic and everything else. Build that character with their backstory. Show why that girl is who she is. Or just blame it on personality. I mean, no one forces you to flesh out a character's backstory, both male and female.