Do you pull your stories to publish on Amazon?

MaraDarks

I have seen many authors seem to 'pull' their stories past a certain treshold in order to sell their content on Amazon (or other sites). Is this alright with readers? Do you think it is okay to cull 95% of a published book in order to sell it online? I'm new to this practice and it got me a bit stumped.

1668985363452571.png

Pic unrelated.

Erios909

It doesn't matter if it is 'alright' with readers. Some will be salty and you'll get backlash, but if you want to make a living from your writing instead of it being a game/hobby, you need to monetize, and the audience/income on amazon can be much larger. You're looking at 5-6 figures for selfpub or indie publishing on KU with a relatively popular story. That's enough to become a full time writer, which many people aspire to do.

MaraDarks

It doesn't matter if it is 'alright' with readers. Some will be salty and you'll get backlash, but if you want to make a living from your writing instead of it being a game/hobby, you need to monetize, and the audience/income on amazon can be much larger. You're looking at 5-6 figures for selfpub or indie publishing on KU with a relatively popular story. That's enough to become a full time writer, which many people aspire to do.
I see. So I buy myself a pair of mittens for the salt and I pull the story after it reaches a certain popularity? Do you think 100,000 views or so would be a good cutting-off point? And thanks for the reply.
If the readers really care about the book they can buy it.
Thanks! I hope they will!

Temple