Looking to read again, but writing is too much fun.

Empyrea

Dense Writer of Lewd
I keep wanting to read novels again, but I have a couple issues I'd like other authors ideas on.

First, I'm having a hard time finding the time to read with all the work I'm doing on my own novel. With planning and then writing it out, I find it hard to use my brain after. I feel like if I read before writing, I won't want to do my writing for the day.

My other problem is I worry since I write so actively, that other people's characters and situations will worm their way into my writing. I don't want my characters to change based on something that didn't happen in my story. I guess I'm just worried I'll have a hard time separating my reading from my writing. If that makes sense.

This is my first time uploading a story anywhere, so some input from more seasoned authors will be valuable. :blob_paint:

Syringe

Bluetooth 7 Enabled Holy Blade w/ Red Dot Sight
Honestly, there isn't anything wrong with implementing things from other stories. 'Just focus on your story' is honestly easier said than done, because in truth, it's very easy to get swept in by other stories. Hell, I watched a few episodes of some dumb anime and I was like "Damn, I'm already imagining my characters in that situation."

One way to deal with it is to mark down that situation, and include it a small cameo/event later. If they worm in, make sure it doesn't compromise the story itself. Make it a small event. Something fun. Reading and watching other medias actually helps my own writing, cause it pumps me up thinking 'I want something like that. Let me finish what I'm writing and lead up to a small event like that later.' Or 'I like that development! Let me try to build up to something similar!'.