What's your view on rewriting a story's earlier chapters?

ConTroll

Eternal Wood
Hello folks,

Being a novice author, I often wonder how much a rewrite of my initial chapters would benefit my story.

At first, I thought it would be a great idea; having my current writing style be reflected across my work would definitely help with style continuity.

However, as months passed and I gained more experience as a writer, I realized that if I rewrote those earlier chapters now, then I would have to rewrite them again later, when I had improved even more as an author. And so-on.

Now, my current stance is to just move forward with my story. As my writing evolves and I settle into my own style, changes in my skills will be reflected in the more recent chapters...

What are your thoughts?

I've also considered a rewrite to garner more views, and honestly, I do think it would help with reader retention. So, a rewrite, maybe even a large edit, might be necessary later down the road.

Then again, if people aren't interested in the story, they just won't read it.

Riese

Just a writer for fun
That’s also my problem on my novel. But for me i decided to keep on writing it until i finish its volume 1 for my plan. Then after finishing volume 1 i plan to release volume 2 and create a new rewritten version of volume 1.:blob_hide:

Assurbanipal_II

Empress of the Four Corners of the World
Just do it. :blob_evil_two: Rewrite is good. You gain more experience than you think.

Ummm well, you aren't alone... I feel the same thing as you.
I also feel like my writing style is getting different(in a good way, hopefully).
But, I just let it be, and let the reader notice my improvement. Some of my readers said so, and it feels nice when someone notice if you get improved. So I chose not to rewrite the previous shity chapters of mine:blob_pout:

Shiver

I just finished my rewrites.
I had 140k words into Shift and then noticed I'd created a huge problem for my MC's future development.