Difficulty of soulslike games.

InviInvi

As long as there isn't another Laxasia I'm perfectly content with how soulslikes are rn

RepresentingEnvy

En-Chan Queen Vampy!
Who said they don't like those kinds of bosses? And I am not talking about making bosses easier, quite the opposite. I'm asking to up the difficulty in my other gaming skills. My wit or attention. Remake a Fool's idol boss. Make a not so hard boss that you can't kill unless you've explored the world. Make the world matter, make it more than your levelling ground. Don't make one boss like that out of 20. Make 5 bosses like Nameless King, and the rest are not simply Wolnir or Ancient Wyvern, but all require a different strategy. Here you need to break special barrels to make the boss vulnerable, here you need to evade his attacks with the help of columns or something, here the boss is easy but your inputs got inverted. I don't know, I'm not a game designer.
From talk about the games, I have seen these be peoples least favorite bosses. Its cool at first, but what happens when you replay the game? What about when you start speedrunning? Hence, I think the majority of bosses should be combat skill alone.

SailusGebel

From talk about the games, I have seen these be peoples least favorite bosses. Its cool at first, but what happens when you replay the game? What about when you start speedrunning? Hence, I think the majority of bosses should be combat skill alone.
Sistah, it's cause they don't evolve. Of course Greatwood fight will be the least favorite, cause it's Adjudicator's fight all over again. Almost nothing has changed, but Demon Souls came out in 2009, and DS3 came out in 2016. You had 7 years and you didn't evolve this aspect at all. We came from Penetrator to Gael. We came from Adjudicator to Adjudicator but in a form of Greatwood.