Writing Thread For Authors/ ups and downs

• Thread starter Deleted member 46002
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 46002

Just like the title says, this is a thread for inexperienced authors like me, and I would like to have a deep discussion.

So I have THAT one idea swarming in my mind for a year or even two that I want to write and share with someone because the story has an interesting plot going on. (IMO)

This is how it started.

As an inexperienced writer, I was like, "Hey, writing is not so hard. I should give it a try because what is the worst thing that can happen?" Of course, that motivation overwhelmed me, and I decided to write the beginning of my story during the summer holidays. (I had a draft, do not worry.)

I asked a few random people for their opinion on my tragically executed piece of writing, hoping they would like it. This was the most naive thing I could do, and of course, I got nothing but negative feedback that impacted me and my huge ego. (in a bad and good way)

But! I did not give up and shot another shot, which resulted in another failure, and it did not take long before I abandoned the idea as if it was a burden for my soul. There was a lack of knowledge, grammar, better words to make the story worthy of attention.

After some time, the guilt started to gnaw my insides.
It felt that I had lost a chance to create something unique, and I blamed myself for being bad at writing.

However, the connection between me and the imaginary MC was strong enough to keep me going.

"BUT I WANT TO WRITE AS A HOBBY!" - The inner voice kept repeating, and I picked up my drafts once again.

Therefore, I somehow managed to get out of my comfort zone and post it on SH after ages of research and revising, but I know that I still have to learn to reach that road of greatness.

Although every time I open my work, I melt into a pool of awkwardness and cringe, but something is still preventing me from giving up.