Learning how to draw and do art.

ChronicleCrawler

♠ItCrawls♠
I was trying to look for new hobbies until I saw some interesting artworks and drawing herein SH and Youtube.
:unsure::unsure:
Does anyone have any advice or learning techniques to share for beginners with paws like this cat?:sweating_profusely:

Well, joking aside. This one is serious about learning to draw. hehe

D

Deleted member 5560

UUUUH well if you're an absolute beginner, this is actually a pretty good article on beginners tips. I also really like Sycra's video tutorials. It has a lot of basic foundation techniques. Unfortunately a lot of the foundations of drawing is very boring though, so here are my top tips:
  1. Practise. It's a boring but reliable tip, and it will never not apply. Anything you start for the first time is going to be bad, it's going to have mistakes, and looking up tutorials can help but at the end of the day, you just need to keep practising.
  2. Never forget your stretches! This is so, so, so, so, so important. Seriously, I have a permanently fucked up shoulder and RSI in my wrist and it's all from drawing. I know art doesn't seem like a very intense hobby but anything that uses your motor function is going to need a little self care.
  3. Find the fun. Like I said, foundational drawing can be boring, and it's hard to want to do something that isn't fun. So find the fun. Put aside the drawing exercises when you feel burnt out and just doodle and sketch silly things. During high school I made up a character that was just a cartoon man in his underwear whose head was a wedge of swiss cheese and I would just draw him and his miserable life - getting run over, pooped on by a bird, etc. It was extremely silly and the drawings were pretty bad, but it was fun, because I wasn't trying to make something good, I was trying to have fun. If you reach a point of frustration or burn out, don't keep banging your head against a wall. Stop, step back, find the fun.